Review: The Sanctuary by Sara Elizabeth Santana

SYNOPSIS

the-sanctuary-cover

Zoey Valentine is finally safe, tucked way miles underground in the fortified community of the Sanctuary. She can finally breathe easily.

But Sanctuary is far from what she imagined and she can’t help but feel trapped. Razi Cylon may be dead but Sekhmet, her evil corporation that created the Awakened, is still out there and it’s not long before citizens of Sanctuary are disappearing and reappearing, dead and mutilated, each one tagged with a note, a warning, signed by Razi herself.

Problem is, Razi should be dead and when she starts to threaten everything Zoey has fought so hard for, she’s ready to fight. Sekhmet has existed for far too long and Zoey has had enough.

Its time to end it all.

REVIEW

I was provided an e-ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Sequels are always tricky. It’s incredibly difficult to write a follow-up story when the first book was awesome.  The Sanctuary is an exception. I loved this installment just as much (if not more) than the first book.

I was so excited to dive back into the world and find out how our favourite characters were getting along.

In the beginning we get to learn about the famous Sanctuary that Zoey and Ash escaped to at the end of The Awakened. The setting reminded me faintly of the Dauntless faction from Divergent, but the difference is I really disliked Divergent. I freaking loved The Sanctuary.

I’m forever finding it difficult to find a story that grabs and holds my attention for the duration of the book, but once I started reading this one I couldn’t put it down. There were only a couple places I skimmed a bit to get to the action, but that’s only because I’m so damn impatient (I hate myself).

We were introduced to quite a few new characters in this installment, many of which I fell in love with instantly. Astrid is amazing. I see a lot of myself in the way she treats situations she’s in, and let’s be real, she’s with Liam, so yeah. I’d be all over that.

Of course Zoey and Ash are still the main focus of the story and their romance tugged on my heart from the beginning. This journey wasn’t easy for either of them. And hell, if that isn’t a gross understatement, especially during The Sanctuary, I don’t know what is.

I said it when I went into The Awakened and I’ll say it again. I’m not a fan of sci-fi or dystopian or books like that. Sara’s writing is the only exception I’ve found. I am constantly impressed with her work and I can’t wait to see what she’s got coming up.

The Sanctuary was a realistic and well written conclusion to this duology, and while my heart hurts, and I’m pretty sure I’m still in shock, I know this was how the story was supposed to end.

I gave The Sanctuary  4/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON | B&N | BOOK DEPOSITORY | KOBO | iBOOKS

THE SERIES

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


author-photo
Sara Elizabeth Santana is a young adult and new adult fiction writer. She has worked as a smoothie artist, Disneyland cast member, restaurant supervisor, nanny, photographer, pizza delivery driver and barista but writing is what she loves most. Her first story was written at age nine. She runs her own nerd girl/book review blog, What A Nerd Girl Says. Her favorite books are a tie between Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling and Trickster’s Choice by Tamora Pierce. She lives in Southern California with her dad, five siblings and two dogs. Her debut novel is The Awakened.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

