Review: ISLE by Jes Dory

29371486.jpegSYNOPSIS

Eleanora Stone has spent her entire life moving from place to place with her aunt Ada, never putting down roots. Never making friends. When, on the cusp of her eighteenth birthday, she is brought to a remote island off the coast of Maine to live, everything changes—for this is a homecoming of sorts. Here she will connect not only with her family history but also the destiny of her blood. Here she will be expected to grow into powers beyond all imagining and unseat an ancient evil poised to destroy mankind.

REVIEW

I received a copy of ISLE from the  author in exchange for an honest review.

I read this book in one (and a half) days. I would have read it in one sitting but I had to sleep at some point, so I finished it the moment I woke up the next day. It took me the first couple chapters to really get into it, but once I was in, oh man, I was in.

I had no issues following the mythology (and there was quite a bit of it), or visualizing the world the story took place in. The story caught my interest fairly early on and held on to the last page, hardly slowing down in any place which is something I look for in a book; I want to be engaged at all times, and this book delivered.

There were so many twists and turns that kept me on my feet and plenty of romance and action to keep the story going at a comfortable pace.

There was quite a large cast of characters that didn’t always seem necessary to the story, but I enjoyed their presence nonetheless. My favourites were Aston (obviously), Jane, and Wren (even though she was only in the beginning, really). Of course I loved Nora as well; she was a relateable main character who didn’t immediately accept what she was told about her ‘fate’ and I appreciated that. She questioned things she didn’t fully understand, and she allowed herself to show the emotions she was feeling: she was human (even though she wasn’t).

There were a couple spelling/grammar things that caught my editorial eye, but the heart of the story made those barely worth mentioning. They didn’t take away from the amazing story.

This is a story that will stay with you after you finish the last chapter. I can’t stop thinking about it as I write this review and I am eagerly awaiting the sequel.

I gave ISLE 4.5/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON | KINDLE | CHAPTERS | KOBO | B&N | iBOOKS

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

15045621

Jes Dory is the author of the YA Paranormal Fantasy ISLE, part of the ISLE SERIES.

When she is not busy writing or illustrating Dory can be found teaching/taking yoga classes, paddle boarding, being a ninja with American Ninja Warrior husband Ian Dory and mothering her son, Pax.

Residing in Fort Collins, CO, Dory is a member of the Northern Colorado Writers community and is currently working on the second book to the ISLE SERIES!

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

 

Leave a Reply

