Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395SYNOPSIS

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

REVIEW

(WARNING: While most of my reviews are spoiler-free, this one is NOT. Spoilers ahead.)

I loved A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I believe my opinion is the same as most fans of the books; I loved A Court of Mist and Fury even more. Less Tamlin and more Rhysand made for a far more entertaining story.

It took it six months to read this book, not because I didn’t enjoy it, but because of how busy school and life got. I was just over 400 pages in until a few days ago, and then I read the majority of it over the course of two nights.

I basically skimmed the beginning until Rhys showed up to save Feyre from marrying Tamlin and took her back to the Night Court to fulfill her half of the bargain they made Under the Mountain.

I say this every time I talk about this series. I’m not usually a fan of fantasy, but these books were an exception. The characters were the same ones we fell in love with in the first installment (except Tamlin), and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the characters of the Night Court deeper in this book. Cassian is one of my favourite secondary characters to date.

Things I enjoyed…

– Witty banter between Rhys and Feyre (obviously)

– Witty banter with Rhys and literally everyone (except Tamlin)

– Feyre learning to use her Fae powers (you go girl)

– The lack of Tamlin for most of the book

– Feyre being able to make her own choices (what a concept)

– The light, less serious scenes with the Night Court crew when they’re having fun and joking around with each other

Things I disliked…

– Something I was really hung up on was the fact that Rhys and Feyre were basically in the middle of sex before they even had their first kiss (I don’t count what happened Under the Mountain as their first kiss) It just seemed odd to me that there wasn’t a more important moment between the two of them where they shared that first kiss

– The Feysand sex scenes (they were super unnecessary in my opinion and didn’t seem to fit with the tone of the story)

– Rhysand in the “romantic” scenes (when he’s bedding Feyre) His words and the way his actions are described don’t fit how I see him in my head (deadly and graceful)

– The Feysand romance seemed more like fan fiction than keeping with the story

– Any scenes with Tamlin (especially during the end scenes) He continues to treat Feyre he did when she ran away from him

– The entire “mate” thing threw me. I get the concept, fine, whatever, but I felt like it was only implemented so he could f*ck her aggressively on the table and that’s just lame and super unromantic

– I was waiting for Tamlin to screw things up and force her back to the Spring Court, and just as I suspected, I hated when it happened

– For a book considered YA, I felt like the sex scenes were overly graphic (I’ve read plenty of NA sex scenes that were actually extremely well written) and completely unnecessary. The scene where Rhys and Feyre share the tiny bed? Why did the finger f*cking need to happen? I would have preferred to see them share a meaningful first kiss and then cuddle. That’s YA to me. Not describing her naked anatomy and what he’s doing to it to pleasure her.

I know what you’re thinking, if there were so many things I disliked then why did I rate this book so high? Because the story was still kick ass and it knocked me out of my reading slump (and right into a book hangover, but still.) I’m looking forward to A Court of Wings and Ruin, specifically the scene where Rhys and Feyre reunite (hopefully Rhys will pummel Tamlin like he deserves.)

I gave A Court of Mist and Fury 5/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON CA | KINDLE | KOBO | CHAPTERS | B&N | iBOOKS

THE SERIES

3433047

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as a USA Today and international bestselling author. Sarah wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in thirty-five languages. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. Empire of Storms, the fifth Throne of Glass novel,is available now.

She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

