ARC Review: Killmore by Martha Sweeney

IMG_3835.jpg

SYNOPSIS

You know how they say the enemy of your enemy is your friend? Well, I’m still determining if there’s any truth to that statement.

I was used by the Feds to report on the dealings of Antonio Herrera – the major Mexican crime lord since his uncle passed, leaving everything to Antonio. I knew everything about Antonio’s business. How, you ask? I was the only woman he kept close, really close – he claimed he loved me. You get to see and hear a lot of interesting things when you hold that kind of status.

Now, the Feds have me in what they claim is witness protection. However, I never feel safe knowing he’s out there. My family thinks I’m dead. All the while, I keep to myself, avoid most people in my new hometown and train rigorously everydayβ€”waiting for the time when the devil comes calling for his debt to be paid.

REVIEW

e-ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review. Thanks, Martha!

I knew after reading the first chapter online a couple months back that Martha’s new release was something I needed to get my hands on, so of course I jumped at the chance to read it prior to its release.

Killmore was action-packed from the very beginning as the main character Laurie shared her story of starting her life over in witness protection after helping the Feds. While extremely bitter and untrusting (for good reason), Laurie was such a strong, badass character, I couldn’t help but love. She survived an incredibly traumatic time in her life and led a fairly mundane new life, something that I’m sure was more difficult then I could imagine.

Laurie swore off relationships with men after her rocky past, but when Hottie McGorgeous Aiden waltzes into town claiming the Feds need her help (again), she can’t help her attraction toward him. For awhile I didn’t trust him. He was too perfect and sometimes too forward for my liking. He pushed Laurie, occasionally too far, but that turned out to be part of his charm and part of what Laurie fell for.

Along with the insanely hot main characters, there was a large cast of secondary characters. I’m not a huge fan of so many extras as it can be somewhat distracting when it comes to staying focused on what’s happening. I found the secondary characters didn’t add much to the story, at least not for me, but they were sweet.

The romance was slow burning, but super hot. Trust me, that’s totally possible where this story is concerned. There was a perfect mix of sweet, tender moments between Laurie and Aiden, paired with hot, steamy ones. While the verbal back and forth did get to be a bit exhausting at times, they got pretty damn good at shutting each other up in the best ways.

I figured by the middle of the story I knew sort of where it was going. Yeah, nope. Just when I thought I knew what was going to happen… it didn’t. I was completely thrown (and only mildly dissapointed shit didn’t go down at that gala – no spoilers), and when it came close to the end I was on the edge of my seat until the last page.

I have so many questions and theories, so I can’t wait for the next installment to see what the heck happens next. Translation: I want book two hand delivered to my door the second it’s done.

I gave Killmore 4/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

PRE-ORDER THE BOOK

Release Date: November 15, 2016

KINDLE

ABOUT THE AUTHOR13453575.jpg

Martha Sweeney is an Amazon Best-Selling author for her Just Breathe trilogy and her writing has just begun.

Martha has been creative since she was little, always drawing, coloring or making crafts. When her adult life kicked in, her creative outlet disappeared until she discover Adobe Creative Suite products. Now, Martha is a self-taught graphic and website designer who had the pleasure of helping her husband, Thomas Sweeney, author of The Harem, with editing and designed all graphic and web materials for the book and its promotions. She lives in sunny California and has recently begun to enjoy reading, unlike in high school or college which has sparked her new creative avenue of writing.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

