ARC Review: Wilder by Rebecca Yarros

28672986SYNOPSIS

He’s Paxton Wilder.

Twenty-two-year-old, tattooed, smoking-hot leader of the Renegades.

Five time X Games medalist.

The world is his playground—especially this year—and for the next nine months I’m stuck as his tutor on the Study at Sea program.

He’s too busy staging worldwide stunts for his documentary to get to class.

But if I can’t get him to take academics seriously, I’ll lose my scholarship…if I don’t lose my heart first.

Six unlikely friends on a nine-month cruise with the Study at Sea program will learn that chemistry is more than a subject and the best lessons aren’t taught in the classroom…but in the heart.

REVIEW

I don’t say this often because very rarely is it the case, but I was completely hooked from the first chapter. HOOKED. I find I either get off to a good start with contemporaries, or I just don’t get into them at all. I loved Wilder so freaking much.

I found myself easily relating to Leah, and agreeing with her mindset and the actions she took throughout the novel. Having a strong, but realistic main female character is something I consider to be very important, so I was not disappointed. Her tragic backstory allowed the reader to understand her character on a deeper level while also adding a layer of realism to the story. Tragedy happens. Everything isn’t always rainbows and unicorns.

Leah basically got to live out my dream. She got to study abroad on a gorgeous cruise ship with an equally gorgeous guy to tutor. I had so much fun following her adventures and experiencing the way she fell in love throughout the story. While some of the things she did were more on the crazy side, I still felt connected to her and enjoyed her story.

There were so many entertaining secondary characters that we met along the way, and I’m hoping we get more insight into their lives in the following books…Ahem…Landon.

There wasn’t a single part of this book I disliked, and that’s extremely rare. I cannot pick one thing I didn’t like, but I could sit here all day and list the things I loved.

Wilder was filled with intense action, hot yet incredibly heart-warming romance, tragedy, and even a touch of mystery. There were a number of plot twists that took me by surprise, and many moments that had me holding my breath while scrambling to get to the next page.

I fell in love with the Renegades in Wilder, and I can’t wait to see what trouble they get into next!

I gave Wilder 5/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON CA | KINDLE | KOBO

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

7539785Rebecca Yarros is a hopeless romantic and a lover of all things coffee, chocolate, and Paleo. She is the author of the Flight & Glory series, including Full Measures, the award-winning Eyes Turned Skyward, Beyond What is Given, and Hallowed Ground. She loves military heroes, and has been blissfully married to hers for fourteen years.

When she’s not writing, she’s tying hockey skates for her four sons, sneaking in some guitar time, or watching brat-pack movies with her two daughters. She lives in Colorado with the hottest Apache pilot ever, their rambunctious gaggle of kids, an English bulldog who is more stubborn than sweet, and a bunny named General Fluffy Pants who torments the aforementioned bulldog. They recently adopted their youngest daughter from the foster system, and Rebecca is passionate about helping others do the same.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

