Writers Write All Blog Hop: Writing Advice

writers-write-all.jpg_w=560.jpg

I am so excited to be a part of the WRITERS WRITE ALL blog tour hosted by the lovely Charley ( @writercharley on Twitter). Today I am going to be sharing some writing advice!

I’ve been writing since 2009. As of right now I have two completed manuscripts, about five work in progresses, and countless more story ideas.

I have worked with published autho

rs, bloggers, editors and more throughout the years, and from my experience I offer you these five tips:

1. Set aside time to write.

giphy

This might seem impossible some days, but try your best to schedule time to get those words down, especially if you know you have a busy week ahead of you. This is extra important for those writers who work full-time, are in school, or just have a busy day-to-day life.

 

2. Always carry a notebook. (Or have a notebook app on your phone).

tumblr_m98olgfGRX1rpwthr.gif

You never know when inspiration is going to strike. You could be waiting in line for your pumpkin spice latte at Starbucks, or sitting in a lecture. Having something to jot notes down will ensure you don’t let those awesome ideas get away.

3. Use Pinterest boards.

200_s

This one might sound odd, but then again, we writers are generally an odd bunch. Pinterest is an amazing (and free) resource to help build your story. You can create inspiration boards for your stories and include photos of characters, settings, etc. that will help you get the creative juices flowing, and the fingers flying across the keys.

 

4. Use beta readers and critique partners.

blog6-leslie

Some of your best work will be a result of feedback you receive from betas or critique partners reading your work. These awesome people give you the opportunity to make your story the absolute best it can be before you query it to agents, or publish it independently.

 

5. READ.

tumblr_nydaw9uivX1u3hhico1_500.gif

This one should be a given. Read, read, read. Read books that are in the genre your writing to give you a feel for how it should be; not to copy it, but to use it as a loose guide for your own story. Use it to see how dialogue is set up, how paragraphs are broken, how the world is built, etc. Books are amazing resources for writers.

So that’s it from me. I would like to thank Charley for allowing me to participate in this awesome blog hop, and keep reading for a sneak peak of my young adult paranormal romance, The Devil’s Waltz!

A deep laugh sounded from behind me and I flinched, turning quickly to find a tall, red-haired demon standing there.

“You’ve got to be freaking kidding me,” I bit out, and the demon grinned.

“How about we go inside and I buy you a drink?” He stepped forward.

I barked out a laugh, attempting to ignore the flare of pain his proximity caused. “How about you go back to hell?” I suggested sharply.

With wicked speed, the demon shot forward and wrapped his fingers around my wrist in a tight grip.

I winced, trying to pull away, and he cackled in my face.

“You have no idea how delectable you smell.” His eyes ran the length of my body, and I thought I was going to be sick.

“I smell like a club—booze and sweat,” I remarked dryly.

“I bet you taste just as sweet,” he purred and my pulse spiked, panic clamping down hard on my chest. I tried to slow my breathing—tried to focus on a plan. I had to do something, I couldn’t just let—

Out of nowhere, the demon flew back, tripping over his own feet, and fell flat on his ass. I spun around, sucking in a breath, and was faced with stark blue eyes.

Copyright © 2016 by Jessica Elliott

One thought on “Writers Write All Blog Hop: Writing Advice

Leave a Reply

