ARC Review: Prisoned by Marni Mann

28436321
Cover Design: MadHat Books

SYNOPSIS

When I opened my eyes, I was in a cell, my body covered in bruises.

Not a jail.

I’d been kidnapped and imprisoned.

I wasn’t alone. I shared the cell with Garin Woods, the man I’d loved since I was a kid.

The man I couldn’t be with because of the secret. A man who would kill me if he found out what that secret was.

Someone wanted to torture me.

Torture us.

One of us deserved it.

It wasn’t Garin.

REVIEW

I recieved an e-ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book really screwed with my head. I questioned what was real and what wasn’t a lot of the time. It was told from both Kyle and Garin’s perspectives, so we got to both sides to the story, as messed up and tragic as it was.

I did find myself skimming over some of the more graphic and disturbing bits, and holding my breath many times during the second half as each plot twist and surprised flew at me. I was mildly dissapointed by some actions of a certain character, but I won’t say more for fear of spoiling the plot.

I suppose this wasn’t the book for me. While I did like some aspects, I didn’t appreciate the vulgar language that was overused, but I looked over it while reading as best I could.

On a different note, I did enjoy how the author crafted together what Kyle was experiencing and what turned out to really be happening.

The end was another part I enjoyed; getting to see Kyle have a fresh start, and with the man she had loved since they were kids growing up under terrible circumstances.

While I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I’d hoped I would, I think readers who are into dark, twisted stories, and not deterred by graphic language and scenes might appreciate it more than I did.

I gave Prisoned 2/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON US | AMAZON UK | AMAZON CA | AMAZON AU

IMG_3725

GIVEAWAY

$10 Amazon Gift Card & Signed paperback of Prisoned

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Direct Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0cba4250297/?

IMG_3747

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

5400988Bestselling author Marni Mann knew she was going to be a writer since middle school. While other girls her age were daydreaming about teenage pop stars, Marni was fantasizing about penning her first novel. She crafts sexy, titillating stories that weave together her love of darkness, mystery, passion, and human emotions. A New Englander at heart, she now lives in Sarasota, Florida, with her husband and their two dogs, who have been characters in her books. When she’s not nose deep in her laptop, working on her next novel, she’s scouring for chocolate, sipping wine, traveling, or devouring fabulous books.

 FACEBOOK  | GOODREADS | WEBSITE | TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | AMAZON

cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

Leave a Reply

