Review: Change Rein by Anne Jolin

24806207SYNOPSIS

London Daniels is returning home to Willow Bay, Alberta, on the heels of a televised loss. She blew her shot at the Summer Olympics and cost Canada the gold medal in dressage.

During her years of training abroad, her family’s stable has fallen on hard times, and thus, they’ve accepted an offer to board the racehorses of Branson Tucker, the infamous tycoon, for the winter.

London lacks conviction after her ill-fated fall. And as if returning to her hometown to watch her epic failure replay on everyone’s big screen isn’t torture enough, she’s expected to cater to a man with an ego bigger than her hundred-acre farm just to earn a dime.

Is London saddling up for another ride that will leave both her heart and her ass in the dirt? Or could the handsome, unwanted guest at Willow Bay Stables be her second chance to go for gold?

REVIEW

I tore through this book in a day. Okay, two days, but I tore through it insanely quick. It was fast paced and to the point. Anne didn’t take chapters and chapters getting into the story, and she didn’t share boring, pointless details.

Firstly, I have to throw out there my appreciation for the Canadian setting. It seems like there are very few books set in Canada, and as a Canadian gal myself, it always makes me super happy to read a book with a Canadian setting.

Change Rein is an insta-love romance, and for once that didn’t really bother me. However, London and Branson’s romance could have been developed smoother, with less time jumps. The “I love you” came pretty quickly, I thought. Either way, I enjoyed their interactions. They balanced each other out, especially with her witty attitude, and Branson was the right mix of high-handed and sweet. A dangerous mix for girls like London, but the perfect mix for a swoon-worthy book boyfriend.

There was an interesting cast of characters, but I think the story could have done without Charlotte. She posed no real threat to London and Branson’s relationship, even though she’d been intimate with him two years prior. She was sort of irrelevant.

I didn’t feel a build up to the climax, but I found myself waiting for something to go wrong. When that moment came (no spoilers) I was angry and blamed the wrong person. That could’ve been Charlotte’s big moment…

While I enjoyed London and Branson’s story, the little bits of Owen I saw made me very excited for Eight Second Ride, which I plan to dive into immediately.

One very cool bonus feature I found was the music playlist at the end of the book. While I’m not a fan of country music, the idea of including a list of songs in the book was awesome.

I gave Change Rein 3/5 stars. You can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON | KINDLE | KOBO | ORDER SIGNED COPY

THE SERIES

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

8388273Hey y’all, 

I was born and raised in Ladner, a small farm town just outside Vancouver, Canada. I grew up riding horses, shooting guns, and driving in trucks. 

 

I never expected to be an author. A massage therapist? Yes. Take over the family construction company? Yes. But an author? No. Writing was something that snuck up on me and rooted itself into my life. It was beautiful to discover that love, and I’m truly grateful to say I’ve found my passion. 

 

Since I’ve always been a creative person, it feels amazing to harness all of that energy and use it to tell a story I love. I enjoy incorporating bits of my real life into the stories I write. What parts are true? Hah. I’ll never tell—what would be the fun in that? 

 

If I could leave y’all with one thing, it’s that life’s far too short to not live it out loud. Drown in your passions, hold on tight to the things that inspire you, and chase your dreams relentlessly. I can promise you without a doubt that you won’t regret it. I know I don’t. 

 

Mad love, 

Anne Jolin 

xx

 

One thought on “Review: Change Rein by Anne Jolin

  1. Pingback: Book Tour & ARC Review: Eight Second Ride by Anne Jolin – Living Within Fiction

Leave a Reply

