Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824SYNOPSIS

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

REVIEW

I need to start off by saying that I do not like the fantasy genre. It’s just not for me. Maybe it’s because the reality of books in that genre are not feasible in the world I live in. However, I can understand how that fact might be the reason for so many people loving  fantasy. I just tend not to.

This was the case until I picked up A Court of Thorns and Roses. I won ACOTAR in a giveaway back in December, and after reading about SO MANY readers who were obsessed with it, I decided to pick it up. Needless to say, I fell completely in love. It shocked the hell out of me in the best ways, and I am more open to trying genres I might not have read before. This book opened me up to an entire new world of reading, and I am so thrilled to read more from Sarah J. Maas.

Going in I was a bit worried it would take a while to introduce the story before it got interesting. I was pleasantly surprised to find that was not the case. We were introduced to Feyre and her family (who were all slightly irritating), learned about her life, and then BAM. Shit hit the fan and it was on.

Enter Tamlin.

He was everything I expected him to be, and I found myself falling for him alongside Feyre. His hard exterior did nothing to deter her from standing up to him, and when he finally showed his softer side it was beautiful.

Lucien, Tamlin’s emissary and friend, was a blast. Even though he (understandably) hated Feyre in the beginning, his character was witty, charismatic, and just fun. He grew on her eventually, and honestly, I loved him from the beginning. Secondary characters are the bomb.

While the pace of the story throughout most of it was fairly steady, after Feyre found out she didn’t really know the truth about Tamlin’s Court, everything picked up quickly, and the stakes were raised.

I’m going to take a small step back and just mention the character you’ve been waiting to hear about. Rhysand. Oh dear High Lord of the Night Court. Rhys is the character everyone loves to hate, and if you disagree you’re lying to yourself. Wildly inappropriate and high-handed as he was, I fell for him immediately. Almost so fast it was annoying.

The last hundred or so pages flew by in a tangle of action, pain, and hotness. While I considered taking a short breather before diving in to A Court of Mist and Fury for more Rhys, I don’t think I can hold out. No, I definitely can’t.

Do yourself a favour and read this book if you haven’t, and if you have, well, force your friends and family to read it. Everyone needs to experience the lyrical and entertaining work of Sarah J. Maas.

I gave A Court of Thorns and Roses 5/5 stars, and you can add it on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON | KINDLE | KOBO | CHAPTERS | BOOK DEPOSITORY | iBOOKS

THE SERIES

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

3433047


Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM

3 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Loved your review of ACOTAR! Not going to lie, I have the book and always just stop reading after a while. I don’t know what is -and the thing is, it’s not that i’m not enjoying it, it’s just…. idk?- But anyways, i really loved your review and will push myself to finish!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

