Review: First Fruits by Amanda Carney

28187111

SYNOPSIS

Reading minds can be dangerous.

Parsley Walker can hear people’s thoughts and it’s made her a target. As a natural born telepath who’s also telekinetic—two things that can be disturbingly lucrative in the wrong person’s hands—she’s learned to hide who she is. To be always moving and never at ease. To run from that inevitable moment of discovery. She’s a nomad in a waitress’s uniform. This is how she survives.

Until him.

Jesse Linwood is a vampire with a problem. An automaton with sharp teeth, he was sent to evaluate and ultimately abduct her. What he doesn’t expect is the way her blue eyes turn him inside out. Stalking her wasn’t supposed to make him feel anything. She was supposed be like all the others. He begins to unravel and, in the end, makes the choice to pick a fight he knows he cannot win in order to save her life.

REVIEW

I was contacted by the author to receive an e-copy of First Fruits in exchange for an honest review. After a quick read of the synopsis I couldn’t help but be intrigued, so I graciously accepted.

I hadn’t planned on getting to this book until I finished my college finals at the end of the month, but one afternoon I decided just to dive into it — and I enjoyed it quite a bit.

This is a story of a level-headed female protagonist who has been on the run for her entire adult life, and the vampire Jesse who is meant to kidnap her and bring her to her death at the hands of his sire, Patrick.

The relationship that grew between Parsley and Jesse wasn’t anything I found too special, but I did enjoy the times they bantered back and forth. It was entertaining.

Honestly, I didn’t find much to like about Jesse. In fact, I was far more taken with his brother, Felix. He had flare, and I was immediately taken with him and all of his winking.

Bane and Patrick were characters I wanted to pretend didn’t exist. I know that would have eliminated the conflict of the story, but damn, they pissed me off. Bane seriously needed to grow a pair and Patrick needed to get his head out of his ass.

Overall, I enjoyed reading First Fruits, and thanks to that cliffhanger ending, I think I’ll keep reading to see what trouble these characters get themselves into next.

I gave First Fruits 3/5 stars.

You can add First Fruits on Goodreads here!

Note: This title is not YA. It contains erotic scenes and graphic violence.

BUY THE BOOK

AMAZON CA | KOBO

THE SERIES

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

13539202

Amanda Carney grew up barefoot and freckle-faced in the beautiful hills and valleys of rural Ohio. She resides there still with her husband, loyal old dog, and menagerie of beloved cats. When she’s not writing, you can find her with a book in one hand and a crochet hook in the other.

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM

Leave a Reply

