ARC Review: The Sound of Serendipity by Cynthia A. Rodriguez

29331470SYNOPSIS

So many things can happen to a person on a Central Park bench.

For Emerson Kingsley, falling in love happened, despite her broken monster of a heart.

Emerson knows more about listening than she does about love, whether it’s listening to artists as a music producer or listening to stories as she people watches.

Months of watching Maddox Bailey from a park bench are to blame for her infatuation. In her mind, the moment they meet will be spectacular if she ever finds the nerve to speak to him.

But when the two share an awkward cab ride, she realizes that maybe fantasies are meant to stay that way.

The only problem is, now that they’ve met, he keeps popping up in her life. Each time he does, Emerson finds the real-life Maddox to be better than anything she could’ve dreamed—sexy, passionate, and sweeter than his chocolate brown eyes.

A woman in love with possibilities meets a man determined to make them happen.

REVIEW

I was sent an ARC by the author in exchange for an honest review.

First off, I just need to say this: I am not a fan of roller coasters. Actually, I hate them. A lot. However, The Sound of Serendipity was the craziest, most epic roller coaster ever, and I never wanted to get off.

From the moment Emerson and Maddox shared that first cab ride I very quickly realized I was in for something amazing.

Emerson was such a strong female character. Her insecurities were relatable, and her fears made me connect to her as a reader.

Maddox was so fucking smooth. Majorly swoonworthy. But he wasn’t perfect, and I loved that the most about him. I didn’t want him to be perfect, I wanted him to be real. While parts of him frustrated the hell out of me, and some of the things he said and did made me want to scream, he was such a genuine character.

When I sat and binge read TSoS in a weekend I knew it was different from the author’s previous work, and as much as I loved Crashing Souls, I loved TSoS even more.

I have read a lot of contemporary stories in the last year and this one just stood out to me. It was so beautifully crafted together with a perfect mixture of love and angst – I was completely hooked. There was never a point that lagged for me; each chapter – hell, each page was as exciting as the last, if not more, making it insanely hard to put down.

If I had to compare the writing in TSoS to something, I would have to go with Colleen Hoover’s writing. It is entirely unique and absolutely beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time, and I am left wanting more of it – more of Maddox.

I’m having trouble finding the words to describe just how much I loved this story. The writing was flawless – it was detailed and flowed perfectly. Already a 2016 favourite of mine.

The Sound of Serendipity is a story I can’t wait for everyone to read once it releases April 14th, and for everyone to fall in love with Emerson and Maddox just like I did.

I gave The Sound of Serendipity 5/5 stars.

You can (and should) add The Sound of Serendipity on Goodreads here!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

2ujgw8pCynthia A. Rodriguez hates writing her own bio. In her down-time, you can find her watching movies, ranging anywhere from classic movies to action flicks (she has a weakness for Marvel adaptations), and reading steamy novels. She is stationed in North Carolina, where she lives with her husband and their Miniature Pinscher, Winnie (as in Pooh).

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

