Mini Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

SYNOPSIS

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

REVIEW

When I first read November 9 it quickly became one of my favourite Hoover books. I’ve since changed my mind. After thinking about it for awhile and chatting with a friend who has also read it, I decided that I didn’t like it as much as I thought I did.

Don’t get me wrong, it was still amazing. I was swept into the story in the first chapter, my only issue was there was a pretty long period between the beginning of the book and the end where things just seemed to be moving along at a really slow pace, so I found it a bit difficult to read.

Of course, in CoHo fashion, shit hit the fan big time when Fallon got ahold of Ben’s manuscript, and at that point I was grateful to have something to move the story along to its traditional happy ending.

The characters were well written and the romance was cute, but I personally found it difficult to see where Fallon could forgive Ben, not only for getting together with his brother’s girl, but for the fire. I just think that would have been too big for me to forgive. I understand Ben was really messed up when it happened, I just don’t think I would be able to look at him without thinking about it, and that would be really depressing. I could see it holding Fallon back from moving on with her life, but that is just my opinion.

One thing I absolutely loved was the Ugly Love cross-over! I loved being able to check in with Miles and Tate. I squealed like the fangirl I am when I realized what was going on. Ugly Love is probably my favourite Hoover book to date, so incorporating its characters into November 9 is probably what convinced me to rate it how I did.

I gave November 9 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads.

You can add November 9 on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Colleen Hoover is the author of ten New York Times bestselling novels. She self-published her first novel, SLAMMED, in 2012. Five months later it debuted on The New York Times. Colleen has since signed with Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster. Her next novel, November 9, is scheduled to release in November, 2015. 

 

Leave a Reply

