E-Books VS. Physical Books

The competition is real. Both sides have pros and cons, and both sides have groups of people who prefer them. I’m going to talk about what I believe to be the pros and cons of each, and which I prefer in certain situations.

E-Books

Source:@living.within.fiction
Pros:
  • Light
  • Small
  • You have the ability to carry around hundreds of books
  • Better for the environment
  • Books are cheaper
Cons:
  • Not as photogenic #bookstagram
  • Needs a charged battery
  • You’re not holding a physical book
  • No beautiful covers to display on your shelf
I prefer e-books when I’m going away from home, driving long distances, etc. It’s just easier to pack one small e-reader than to pack a bunch of heavy books. E-books are also convenient to authors to send out for review – I’ve read several e-arcs. It takes no time to send them, and no one has to pay for shipping. As a college student who is rarely home, I find e-readers extremely helpful to squeeze in reading while I’m waiting for the bus, or for class to start. I pull out my phone (Kindle app), or my e-reader right out of my purse and can slip it away quickly when I need to as well.

Physical Books

Source:@living.within.fiction
Pros:
  • There is just something about holding that book in your hands and turning the pages that people (including me) love
  • Pretty covers!
  • You can lend them out one by one (to trusting bookish friends)
  • THAT BOOK SMELL (you know the one I’m talking about)
Cons:
  • Hardbacks can be expensive
  • Some weigh a ton – not so fun to carry around
I prefer physical books when I’m just sitting at home and can really enjoy holding a book in my hand. Being away at school has severely limited my reading time, but I do manage to slip in a few chapters before bed, and it’s nice to hold a real book in my hands and turn the pages.

Both reading outlets have their pros and cons, some of which not everyone agrees with, but the important thing is a book is a book. Reading, on whichever platform is amazing, and should be encouraged!

Which do you prefer? E-books or physical books?
 
Leave a Reply

