Top 10 Books of 2015

The end of 2015 means the beginning of 2016, and with that SO MANY MORE BOOKS TO READ. While I am super excited to start reading and discovering new favourites, I thought I would use this opportunity to talk about some of the books I loved in 2015.

1. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love was the second book I ever read by Colleen Hoover, and it continues to be my favourite to this day. I was hooked from the first page, something that I find super appealing in anything that I read. Tate and Miles were likeable characters, and their relationship is complicated, fun, and so many other things. This is a novel I can see myself rereading over and over, and still loving. Colleen’s writing is absolutely beautiful, but also not overdone in a way that makes it hard to read. It’s difficult to come across writing that is both really easy to read, but also insanely beautiful, so I’m glad I finally started picking up her books.

2. Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Jennifer L. Armentrout is in my top 3 favourite authors. Between 2014 and 2015 most of the book I read were JLA, so it’s safe to say she was my favourite. Obsession takes place in the Lux world, but it is not young adult. It was hot and steamy, a ton of fun, and just plain awesome, in JLA fashion. I loved it. Hunter and Serena were witty, and their chemistry was unforgettable. Definite favourite of 2015, hands down.

3. Confess by Colleen Hoover


 Confess was one of my favourite CoHo books this year. It was heartbreaking, of course, but so much more. It was fun, creative, and I would recommend it to any one of my reader friends.

4. Slammed by Colleen Hoover


 Slammed was beautiful. It made me have a new appreciation for slam, and poetry in general. In the beginning, the love story felt a bit like something out of Pretty Little Liars (Ezria), but as the story went on, I couldn’t compare it to anything. It was unique and amazing, and I am looking forward to reading the sequel.

5. November 9 by Colleen Hoover


 Part of me hated this book. I say this because IT HURT SO MUCH. Colleen Hoover knows how to write a story so amazingly heartbreaking that each time she releases a new book, I dive right in, almost forgetting how broken I feel after finishing her books. She is, without question, one of my top 3 favourite authors, and there has not been a novel that she has written that I haven’t absolutely loved.

6. Sweet Temptation by Wendy Higgins


 From the moment it was announced that Kaidan was getting his own book, I was counting down the days until I could hold it in my hands. When that day came, I basically cancelled everything else, ignored all responsibilities, and stuck my nose in the book. It goes without saying that I loved it. It was insanely awesome to read the series that I loved so much from Kai’s P.O.V., and I see myself rereading it many times.

7. Velvet by Temple West


VELVET. OMG. The minute I read the synopsis for this book, it was at the top of my TBR. When I finally managed to get my hands on it, I tore through it, and loved it even more than I thought I would. There were a few scenes that felt a little Twilight, but in a way that spoke to the audience and made me laugh. This story was filled with humour, witty, awesome characters, and a love story anyone would root for.

8. A Diamond in the Rough by Elisa Marie Hopkins


 A Diamond in the Rough was freaking amazing. Enough said. I was asked to read ADITR for review, and I was beyond excited to get my hands on it. I had read the synopsis and teasers shared over social media when Elisa contacted me, so obviously I jumped on the chance to read it. I wasn’t wrong when I thought I would love it. Oliver is majorly swoonworthy, and while Sophie is a famous model, I still found ways to connect to her character, which only made the story more enjoyable to read.

9. Crashing Souls by Cynthia A. Rodriguez


 Crashing Souls was one of the most beautifully tragic stories I’ve ever read. I received a copy for review before its release and quickly fell in love with Dex and Noa. Their story was heartbreaking and amazing, and the ending left me shocked, scared for the characters I came to love, and wanting to know when I would be able to read more about Dex and Noa.

10. The Awakened by Sara Elizabeth Santana


The Awakened was one of the last books I read in 2015. I was lucky enough to receive a copy from the author to review, and I absolutely loved it. As I stated in my review, this genre isn’t usually what I would pick up, but I wanted to give it a chance, especially after reading the synopsis and the teasers. This book threw me through a loop and left me desperately wanting to know what happens next. I’m so excited for the sequel!

What were your favourite reads of 2015? Comment down below, or tweet me @livingwithinfic!
Leave a Reply

