Review: Black Diamond by Elisa Marie Hopkins

SYNOPSIS

Over the weeks following her disappearance and the discovery of a long-silenced secret, the yellow brick road to Sophia Cavall’s happiness becomes littered with minefields. 

Enter Oliver Black and his irresistible persona. He’s strong, caring, and doesn’t question her need for freedom. Sophie is Oliver’s feminine equal—the lioness in his lion lifestyle. She is his eyes and ears, and has his heart in her pocket. They have enough passion to paint the town red with love and a lurking, dangerous rival fears their union is a problem. 

The price of fame and a high-profile relationship collides as the media spins a yarn to boost their ratings. Before they know it, the romance begins to falter. Can the two reconcile their opposing views before it is too late or will they lose the greatest love they’ve ever known? A devil of a choice is in order. 

The odds are stacked against Sophie and Oliver in this second installment of the Diamond in the Rough series. What is the truth? Who is the real enemy? There’s no two ways about it—ready or not, he will come.

REVIEW
I was sent an free e-copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

The first thing I noticed the moment I started reading Black Diamond is that we were no longer in Sophie’s head. I really enjoyed reading the first person POV in ADITR, but I was not opposed to getting inside Oliver’s perspective a bit, too.

So, basically I just want to sit and mope over that ending because THAT. ENDING. So many PAINFUL secrets, and things left unsaid, and I just miss the adorable relationship between Sophie and Oliver.

We started off fairly happy with Sophie and Oliver spending some time away from the city, and from the eye of the media. It was a well deserved break for both of them, and the perfect opportunity for them to spend some time together alone.

I honestly felt as though they weren’t as close in this instalment of the series, which made me miss how they were in ADITR. The love was there between them, that was clear, but I wanted to see more romance, more stolen moments, and basically just more time with the two of them. Their romance was pushed to the back burner because of everything else going on, with Bridges, Black Inc., and Sarah (who really irritated me the entire time), and I really missed it.

So many things happen in this book that I was flipping out all over the place. It didn’t help that I was trying to finish my first semester of college while also trying to read, but I couldn’t help myself from sneaking time to read Black Diamond when I should have been studying because I needed to know was the hell was going on and what ultimately was going to happen to the characters.

The news about Reed was sad, but follow that up with the discovery of Oliver having cancer and I was a mess. I was so happy that he and Sophie had the chance to go on an amazing birthday date, but that so does not make up for the fact they both end up keeping major secrets from each other.

I am sad and angry and I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT. They have to end up together. Sure, they can spend some time apart, but they will end up together in the end… right? PLEASE.

Black Diamond sent me on a roller coaster of emotions, left me unsure of pretty much everything, and book three needs to hurry up and happen ASAP because I need to know!

I gave Black Diamond a 3/5 stars on Goodreads.

 

You can add Black Diamond on Goodreads here.

BUY THE BOOK

THE SERIES

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Elisa Marie Hopkins was born in California, where she grew up, to Mexican parents. She is an avid reader, Netflix geek, dancing machine, and cat aficionado. Hopkins has a Computer Science Engineering degree, but doesn’t consider herself a software guru. What she wants most is to write and share stories that have the power to inspire and motivate, stories that will live in the hearts of readers forever.

 

Leave a Reply

